Journal 7

Iowa Wesleyan University **We aren't endorsed by this school
REL 150
Nov 20, 2023
Uploaded by MegaOtterMaster1034 on
Introduction To Christianity The following are the four concepts for Dy 7:- (1) Gospel of Luke The Gospel of Luke is one of the books which is included in the New Testament of the Bible. The book opens by introducing the birth stories of John the Baptist and Jesus, both of whom are seen as fulfilling God's ancient promises. John is portrayed as a prophetic messenger, while Jesus is presented as the Messianic King who will bring God's blessings not only to Israel but to all of humanity. It tells us the story of the life and teachings of Jesus Christ. His gospel emphasizes Jesus' compassion for the poor and marginalized people and his mission to bring salvation to all people. It also highlights Jesus' interactions with various individuals, including women and outcasts. The Gospel of Luke is known for its focus on forgiveness, social justice, and the inclusion of those often excluded from society. (2) Gospel of Matthew The Gospel of Matthew was written by Matthew, who is described as one of the twelve disciples of Jesus. The book is divided into five main sections, which include the introduction and conclusion and describe the teachings of Jesus. He taught people important moral lessons like loving others and praying, which he shared during events like the Sermon on the Mount. He helped a lot of people by healing their sickness and feeding large crowds of people with just a little food. However, the religious leader and Roman authorities disliked Jesus and had him arrested and crucified. After his death, Jesus rose from the grave and asked his disciples to spread the gospel to all nations, promising his presence would forever be there in this world to guide people. (3) Gospel of John (Part 1 and 2) The Gospel of John was written by one of Jesus' closest disciples, who is believed to be John the Apostle. The purpose of the gospel is to convince readers that Jesus is the promised Messiah and the Son of God. The first half of the book contains stories of Jesus performing several miracles, such as turning water into wine, healing the sick, and making Lazarus rise from the dead. All these miraculous things were meant to make people believe Jesus is the messenger sent from the God. This caused a lot of controversy, where some people believed it while others didn't. The second half focuses on Jesus' final days. It describes his last supper with his discipline, where he washes their feet and teaches them to love one another. Jesus also promises that after he leaves, God will send a helper called the Holy Spirit. The gospel then talks about Jesus' arrest, trial, crucifixion, and resurrection from the dead. This proved that he is the Son of God and defeats sin and death. In the end, Jesus appears to his disciples and asks them to continue his mission by spreading his message to others. The gospel aims to convince the reader that by believing in Jesus and his miracles, they can receive a new life from God.
Page1of 1
Uploaded by MegaOtterMaster1034 on